Wheat Belly, Get Rid of It!

http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-505269_162-57505149/modern-wheat-a-perfect-chronic-poison-doctor-says/

Modern wheat a “perfect, chronic poison,” doctor says

(…)(CBS News) Modern wheat is a “perfect, chronic poison,” according to Dr. William Davis, a cardiologist who has published a book all about the world’s most popular grain.

Davis said that the wheat we eat these days isn’t the wheat your grandma had: “It’s an 18-inch tall plant created by genetic research in the ’60s and ’70s,” he said on “CBS This Morning.” “This thing has many new features nobody told you about, such as there’s a new protein in this thing called gliadin. It’s not gluten. I’m not addressing people with gluten sensitivities and celiac disease. I’m talking about everybody else because everybody else is susceptible to the gliadin protein that is an opiate. This thing binds into the opiate receptors in your brain and in most people stimulates appetite, such that we consume 440 more calories per day, 365 days per year.”(…)

 

Click here for video and CBS News entire story.

2 thoughts on “Wheat Belly, Get Rid of It!

  1. biggsis says:

    This is so interesting. We have cut WAY back on gluten as my husband was advised to be gluten-free, so my son and I indulge once in awhile, but for the most part we don’t eat it anymore. For the first time in many years I have seen a decrease in my belly fat -and I am not heavy and have not been trying to lost weight, but I exercise and eat well and some of the pooch that I thought was stuck on my 48 year old body is gone!

  2. Hi! biggsis
    That’s an awesome side effect! Great testimony to the positive on gluten-free results. I hope to put this to good use for myself and family too and hope for same.

    Thanks for the feedback on this key to obesity and poor health that we are seeing now from wheat. WOW! who knew?

Lights to Musings

