Roles, What Family Has Become, How Corporate Church, Career, and Government Usurp God Given Family Structure

Yes, it’s a very loaded and ambitious subject to broach. Consider with me, I’ve come up with a question/observation. I think I know why the traditional family pattern has been harmed rather than reinforced by the corporate church of today’s pattern. Simply put it has substituted for the extended family unit.

The catch phrases I’ve heard in 40 years of corporate worship bodies such as, “I’m glad to be a member of the family of God.” and many others have implanted in my mind as superseding my flesh and blood and by marriage families. In theory these phrases shouldn’t be detrimental to our earthly families because it is the ultimate truth that we are individuals who are related to each believer in Jesus, but I think it invokes in us a callousness toward our unbelieving relations that is not at all intended for us to hold as Christians.

When Jesus spoke to the Pharisees and scribes in
 
Mark 7: 5 Then the Pharisees and scribes asked him, Why walk not thy disciples according to the tradition of the elders, but eat bread with unwashen hands? 

 6 He answered and said unto them, Well hath Esaias prophesied of you hypocrites, as it is written, This people honoureth me with their lips, but their heart is far from me. 

 7 Howbeit in vain do they worship me, teaching for doctrines the commandments of men. 

 8 For laying aside the commandment of God, ye hold the tradition of men, as the washing of pots and cups: and many other such like things ye do. 

 9 And he said unto them, Full well ye reject the commandment of God, that ye may keep your own tradition. 

 10 For Moses said, Honour thy father and thy mother; and, Whoso curseth father or mother, let him die the death: 

 11 But ye say, If a man shall say to his father or mother, It is Corban, that is to say, a gift, by whatsoever thou mightest be profited by me; he shall be free. 

 12 And ye suffer him no more to do ought for his father or his mother; 

 13 Making the word of God of none effect through your tradition, which ye have delivered: and many such like things do ye.

 I wonder if the modern church has not been guilty of filling the gap of human relationships in our industrial technological world (that includes birth controlled small families and careerism as being godly pursuits of modern life choices as being OK with God because, we are told, we don’t live the way our grandparents lived in the horse and buggy days?

Now we are all familiar with the post WW2  changes to the family, just picture the differences, and then let us ask, “Did God’s pattern for the family change?” I don’t think so……..but the corporate 501c3 chruch surely has a different agenda with our daycare centers for working mothers and our divorce recovery and single adults groups, etc., etc………..Those areas used to be family business and only very close friends came anywhere near those zones and then with very great trepidation and respect for the sanctity of the family.

 Now we are being told, “Don’t think of it as the federal government but as your “federal family.”
http://www.palmbeachpost.com/storm/femas-use-of-term-federal-family-for-government-1808751.html 
 by George Bennett Palm Beach Post Staff Writer, Sept. 1, 2011.

 I decline the last offer to transfer my trust to the “federal family”, I draw the line there! But I suspect that I should have been more careful to nurse and care for my traditional family extensions.

What do you think?


2 thoughts on “Roles, What Family Has Become, How Corporate Church, Career, and Government Usurp God Given Family Structure

  1. Ma says:

    I think it invokes in us a callousness toward our unbelieving relationsYou hit something there that has really rung true in my life. God told us to honor our father and mother, not shun them if they don't belong to the "church"…although I have done just that. It has come to my attention that I need to repair some of these relationships and have been doing so.We do go to a "church" which we do love, but we aren't handing over our kids to them so they can indoctrinate them…and I don't mean that they would do anything harmful, just that WE are in charge of passing on the faith to our kids. I like the reinforcement of this in our fellowship, but we don't want them taking over for us.

  2. Hi Ma, We do need fellowship in the wider church and it is wonderful as long as we add it to our already established familial relationships, I agree with you completely.:)

Lights to Musings

